11.3 C
Monday, May 23, 2022

Rawlings & Kufuor Nominated For ‘Mahatma Gandhi’ Award


Six former African heads of state are to be honoured with the ‘Mahatma Gandhi’ trophy for their roles in the growth of democracy in their countries, according to organisers of the award.

They are Alpha Oumar Konare, former president of Mali and ex-chairperson of the African Union Commission, Jerry John Rawlings and John Agyekum Kufuor, former presidents of Ghana, Nicephore Dieudonne Soglo and Mathieu Kerekou, former presidents of Benin and the Libyan leader Mouammar Kadhafi.

The Mahatma Ghandi trophy, named after the Indian non-violence advocate, is awarded to heads of state who did not change their country’s constitution and who worked for conflict resolution in Africa.

The Mahatma Gandhi Movement, based in Lome, Togo, is aimed at promoting, defending and protecting human rights in Africa and around the world. These awards, which will be presented to the nominees, depending on their schedule, are aimed at immortalizing Mahatma Gandhi and perpetuating his work mainly based on non-violence.

Latest news
Related news