2.5 C
Saturday, January 28, 2023

CNN African Journalist Awards Is Back


Israel Laryea won Best Radio News AwardCNN AND Multichoice have announced the opening of entries for this year’s edition of the CNN Multichoice African Journalists Awards which is aimed at highlighting the significance of the journalist’s role in Africa’s development as well as reward journalistic talent across the continent.

Entries for stories and photographs of high journalistic standard are expected from journalists before February 16, 2009 which is the closing date for the entries.

To enter the competition a journalist is expected to be an African national of at least 18 years and must be working for an African media organisation.  

Judging will take place in April. The judges would be looking out for works that tell balanced stories in a comprehensive and an objective manner. The journalists’ stories must be accessible and relevant to their audience. They are also expected to put out well organised research which were broadcast or published between January and December 2008, with proofs supplied.

Finalists in the competition will participate in a four-day finalists’ programme that would include a media forum and networking opportunities with senior journalists, editors, business leaders and media owners from across the continent, culminating in a gala awards ceremony in July 2009.

Each category winner receives a cash prize plus laptop and printer. The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2009 will receive an additional cash prize and also take a trip to the CNN Center in Atlanta.

This year the competition will recognise excellence in such categories as Tourism, Arts and Culture, Economics & Business, and the Environment, whose awards would be sponsored by Ecobank.

The rest are the Free Press Africa Award; MSD Health & Medical Award; HIV/AIDS Reporting in Africa; the Mohamed Amin Photographic Award sponsored by Camerapix Print; General News Award sponsored by Safebond Africa Ltd, and Radio General News Award.

There would be Sports Award sponsored by Global Media Alliance; Television – Features Award sponsored by IPP Media Tanzania; Television – News Bulletin Award; Francophone General News Awards (Print and TV/Radio), and Portuguese Language General News Award.

CNN founded the African Journalists Awards in 1995 and has since grown to become the most prestigious awards event for journalists across the African continent.

By Francis Addo

Latest news

Man Utd 5 – 0 Wigan

Portsmouth 1 – 4 Arsenal

Sex workers storm port city

Related news

Man Utd 5 – 0 Wigan

Portsmouth 1 – 4 Arsenal

Sex workers storm port city