Bomison defends disallowed goal against Kotoko

Bomison defends disallowed goal against Kotoko FIFA referee Seidu Bomison has defended a disallowed goal against Kumasi Asante Kotoko during their Week Five Glo Premier League clash against Sporting Mirren at the Ohene Djan Sports stadium two weeks ago.

The premiership debutants beat the League champions 2-1, but a goal which was scored by Kotoko was disallowed by an assistant referee incensed fans of Kotoko, who destroyed some properties at the national stadium.

The action of the Kotoko fans halted play for about 20 minutes as Bomison and his assistant Ganiyu Tanko were pelted with all manner of objects the fans could lay hands on.

Referee Bomison, a member of the nation’s elite referees however says he has no regrets over that decision.

The 38 year old referee told GNA Sports on Wednesday in Accra that his actions were justified and a perfect interpretation of the laws of the game.

Bomison explained that the fact that it was a short-corner, it necessitated the application of the off-side rule, which traditionally has no jurisdictions over corner-kicks.

“Initially, I was not close to the spot and had to rely on the signal from the assistant referee. But after watching the clip, I was very happy with the decision, which is one of the best I have ever made.”

The Wa-based referee dispelled claims by fans of Asante Kotoko and some officials that he has a personal grudge against the Club.

“I have officiated in five Kotoko matches and on all occasions, I interpreted the rules to the maximum. I have nothing against Kotoko.

“My father and household are all pro-Kotoko but on the field you have to be professional,” he added.

Referee Bomison urged Club officials to educate their fans on the laws of the game to prevent future disturbances and unwarranted occurrences.

Meanwhile, the Referees Association of Ghana (RAG) has applauded the decision of the match officials during the said match.

Godsway Glah, General Secretary of RAG, told GNA Sports that the Association has reviewed the match severally and that the match officials took the right decision.

“The player who headed the ball (Alex Asamoah) was in an off-side position before the ball was played.”

He commended Assistant referee Ganiyu Tanko for his resilience, which saw him spot the incident.

Source: GNA