CPP holds final congress today

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) will complete its regional delegates congress today, which will culminate in a two-day national delegates congress scheduled for Friday, September 18, and Saturday, September 19, 2015 at a location yet to be announced.

As the party proceeds to its national delegates congress, the last and 10th regional delegates congress of CPP has been slated for Saltpond in the Central Region today, August 15, 2015, to elect new regional executive for the region.

Greater Accra Region
The ninth regional delegates congress of the party was held in the Greater Accra Region last Sunday, August 9, 2015.

Mr Mathew Obeng Boadu was elected as the Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the party; Emmanuel Nii Ashia Anyankor, Vice Chairman; Comfort Dzifa Akorli, Women’s Organiser and Nathaniel Nanyo, Secretary.

The others are Koo Mensah Frempong, regional organiser; Yiri Mambor, youth organiser and Frederick Martey, education secretary.

The General Secretary of CPP, Mr Ivor Greenstreet, who disclosed this to the Daily Graphic, said the national delegates congress would elect national officers to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

He said the national congress would also pass resolutions confirming results of the unity talks the party had held with the People’s National Convention (PNC).

He said that would lead to one presidential candidate being fielded to represent both parties in the 2016 general election.

He stated that this combination of forces would lead to benefits of institutional arrangements such as operating from the same offices and jointly using resources.

It would also allow both parties to have the same organisation to increase the number of members of Parliament as the parties would be allowed to field one parliamentary candidate in a constituency.

Mr Greenstreet said that was expected to improve the parties’ electoral fortunes, which had been dwindling, and erase public perception of disunity within the Nkrumaist parties.

CPP 2012 election results
In the 2008 presidential election, Dr Edward Mahama of the PNC secured 73,757 votes, representing 0.87 per cent, and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the CPP had 112,718, representing 1.32 per cent.

In 2012, Hassan Ayariga of the PNC had 24,617, representing 0.22 per cent, and Dr Abu Sakara of the CPP got 20,323 votes, representing 0.18 per cent.

The two parties also had one member of parliament each in the 2008 elections in the person of Madam Yaba Samia Nkrumah for Jomoro (CPP) and Alhassan Azong for Builsa South (PNC).

However, Samia Nkrumah lost her Jomoro seat and the party had no representation in parliament until Moses Yahaya Amadu clinched the Kumbungu seat in a by-election for the CPP.

Alhassan Azong, however, managed to retain the one seat in parliament by winning the Builsa South seat for the second time in the 2012 parliamentary election.

Source: Graphic Online

The post CPP holds final congress today appeared first on citifmonline.


Next articleAsem + 4×4 + D-Black + more