Home / Sports / Rugby league kicks off April 5

Rugby league kicks off April 5

The Nigeria Rugby Football Federation has said the rugby league will commence on April 5.

The vice president of NRFF Olatunji Fasinmoye told our correspondent that the league was delayed due to “hiccups that were experienced in the planning stages of the competition”.

He said, “It is still a regional league but we have merged the South-East and South-South teams because of the quality of the teams we have from that region. Now we have three leagues; the South-West, Northern, and South-Eastern.”

He explained that the teams from Lagos will be playing their matches at the National Stadium while the teams from the other regions will be playing their matches both home and away.

“There will be three matches on a match-day and match-days will be fortnights with the Lagos teams playing at the National Stadium. This is because Lagos is centralised,” he said.

The league, which will be made up of 16 teams, will have six teams each from the North and the West, and four teams from the South-South and South-East regions.

Fasinmoye also said that Nigeria will not be participating in the rugby event of the Commonwealth Games.

“We won’t be participating again. The IRB has replaced us with Barbados,” he said.

Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

<script type="text/javascript"><!-- google_ad_client = "ca-pub-7302103714501030"; /* ND6 */ google_ad_slot = "9287784905"; google_ad_width = 336; google_ad_height = 280; //--> </script> <script type="text/javascript" src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js"> </script>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>