Stonebwoy, R2Bees, Sarkodie nominated for MAMA 2016

Ghanaian acts, Stonebwoy, R2Bees and Sarkodie, have been nominated for the 2016 edition of the MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA).

Fifty MAMA nominees including artists and achievers from 18 countries were revealed in nine key music and lifestyle award categories by Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa and MTV Base (DStv channel 322) at a star-studded reception at Constitution Hill, Johannesburg, South Africa.

The Ghanaian trio were listed in the first batch of nominations announced.

Stonebwoy was nominated in the ‘Best Live’ category and will compete with Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Eddy Kenzo (Uganda), Flavour (Nigeria) and Mafikizolo (South Africa) for that award.

In the ‘Best Group’ category, Tema-based R2bees are up against Mi Casa (South Africa), Navy Kenzo (Tanzania), Sauti Sol (Kenya), Toofan (Togo) to win that award.

Rapper Sarkodie also received a nod in the ‘Best Collaboration’ category for Nigerian Patoranking’s song “No Kissing”.

The second round of nominations, which comprises seven additional award categories – including Artist of the Year, Best Female, Listener’s Choice, Best Breakthrough, Best Francophone, Song of the Year and Video of the Year, will be revealed at the Hard Rock Café, Lagos, Nigeria on 2 October.

General Manager, Multichoice Ghana, Cecil Sunkwa-Mills, congratulated all the nominees most especially the Ghanaian trio and encouraged all to vote massively for them.

She added that “the time has come for Ghanaian music to take centre stage on the African scene at Africa’s premier music and arts festival.”

The sixth edition of the MAMA which will take place at the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg on October 22, 2016 will be hosted by Trevor Noah, the host of Comedy Central’s ‘The Daily Show’.


Best Male

AKA (South Africa)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Live
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Group

Mi Casa (South Africa)
Navy Kenzo (Tanzania)
R2bees (Ghana)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Collaboration in partnership with Absolut

AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – “Baddest” (South Africa/Nigeria)
DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Bucks – “Soweto Baby” ((South Africa/Nigeria)
Nasty C feat. Davido, Cassper – “Juice Back Remix” (Nigeria/South Africa)
Patoranking feat. Sarkodie – “No Kissing” (Nigeria/Ghana)
Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba – “Unconditionally Bae” (Kenya/Tanzania)

Best Hip Hop in association with MTN

Emtee (South Africa)
Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Riky Rick (South Africa)
Ycee (Nigeria)

Best Pop/Alternative

Desmond & The Tutus (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Shekinah (South Africa) / Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)
Timo ODV (South Africa)
Tresor (DRC)

Best Lusophone

C4 Pedro (Angola)
NGA (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Netherlands/Cape Verde)
Preto Show (Angola)

Personality of the Year in association with DStv

Caster Semenya (South Africa)
Linda Ikeji (Nigeria)
Pearl Thusi (South Africa)
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best International
Adele (UK)
Beyoncé (USA)
Drake (Canada)
Future (USA)
Rihanna (Barbados)

Source: Ghana/ Hayford

Do you have more to share about this story – photos or video etc – you can send
them to: ([email protected])

About ghanamma

Leave a Reply