Know the 16 finalists for Gabon Afcon 2017

Gabon 2017 Tournament

The Sixteen teams for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon were confirmed after the last round of the qualifiers played on Sunday.

Host nation Gabon are joined by Magreb region giants Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea, Bissau, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Uganda, second in Group D with 13 points, and Togo, second in Group A with 11 points qualified as the two best runners-up.

Guinea-Bissau will be the only newcomer at next year’s finals whilst Senegal was the only team to have won all six matches and finish with a 100% record.

There are nine countries from West Africa that have qualified, four from North region, one apiece from the East, Central and Southern Africa zones.

Successful countries:

Hosts: Gabon

East Africa: Uganda

North Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Tunisia and Morocco

West Africa: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Senegal, Togo

Central Africa: Democratic Republic of Congo

Southern Africa: Zimbabwe

Source: Ghana/ Bebli

Do you have more to share about this story – photos or video etc – you can send
them to: ([email protected])

About ghanamma

Leave a Reply