GJA honours 20 journalists for exemplary works in 2015

General News of Sunday, 28 August 2016

Source: Graphic.com.gh


21st GJA AWARDSThe 21st GJA Awards was held Saturday, August 27, 2016

The Ghana Journalist Association (GJA) on Saturday rewarded journalists for their exemplary works in year 2015.

In all, a total of 19 journalists were honoured out of 163 entries submitted for the 21st GJA awards for 2015.

For the first time, the Journalist of the year, which was won by Anas Aremeyaw Anas of the Crusading Guide walked home with a brand new vehicle, a Hyundai Creta (SUV) whilst the Best Journalist in Financial Reporting, Elvis Darko of the Finder newspaper also took away a saloon vehicle.

Anas was voted as the best for his story on jutdicial corruption that resulted in the dismissal of many judges from the Superior and lower courts.

Award winners

Journalist of the Year 2015

Anas Aremeyaw Anas

Best in Financial Reporting

Elvis Darko (The Finder) – Government cripples banking

Best Journalist (Sports – Radio)

Benedict Owusu (Joy News) – Juju in Football

Best Journalist (Sports – Print)

John Vigah (Ghanaian Times) -Accra Sports Stadium; A death trap

Photo Journalism

Samuel Tei Adano (Daily Graphic) – Crossing the deadly Adenta-Madina road

Best in Human Rights

Gabriel Obodai Torbor-Ashong (Metro TV) – Neglected souls

Best Journalist in Health

Kafui Kanyi (GNA) – Poison in a calabash

Best Journalist (Print)

Emmanuel Baah (Daily Graphic) – Acquiring knowledge the perilous way

Best Journalist (Crime and Court)

Beatrice Adu (Joy FM) Corosive love

Best Journalist (Telecommunication)

Samuel Doe Ablordeppey (Daily Graphic) – Technology to define future banking

Best Journalist News Reporting (Print)

Grace Sogbey (Revelation Newspaper) – No preaching

Best in sustainable development

Joseph Opoku Gakpo (Joy FM) – Jungle Poor

Features (Print)

Kofi Yeboah (Revelation Newspaper)

Best in Rural Reporting

Kafui Kanyi (GNA) – My baby my farm

Best Journalist (Environment)

Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM) – Candidates for death

Best Investigative Report

John Vigah (Ghanaian Times) – Hazardous waste

Best Journalist (SMEs)

Famous Kwesi Atitsogbi (Multimemedia Group) Juice from the baobab

Best in Oil and Gas

Dotsey Koblah Aklorbortu (Graphic Business) Why Ghana must invest oil revenues locally

Best in Agriculture

Gabriel Ahiabor (Daily Graphic) – Fish for livelihood

Best in News reporting (Electronic)

Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM)- Talented arts in prison

Features in Television

Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM) – Locked and forgotten

Best in Tourism

Famous Kwesi Atitsogbi (Multimedia) – Mole: Ghana’s wildlife for tourism

Best Reporter (Science)

Rebecca Kwei (Daily Graphic) – Clinical trials not rocket science

Best in Sanitation

Rebekah Awuah (GBC 24)

Most Promising reporter

Maxwell Akalaare Adombilla

Honorary Awards

1. Bright Kwame Blewu (Director of Ghana International Press Centre) – GJA General Secretary Emeritus

2. Ideal Finance

3. Global Media Alliance

4. EIB Network (Excellence in Broadcasting)

5.Ghana Armed Forces (GAF)

6. Metro TV and Randy Abbey (Good Morning Ghana)

7. Viasat 1

About ghanamma

Leave a Reply