Germany's Loew keeps faith with Euro 2016 players

Berlin, Aug.26, (GNA/dpa) – Germany coach
Joachim Loew Friday retained 19 players from his Euro 2016 squad for the
opening of the 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign.

There is a first call up for Hoffenheim’s
20-year-old central defender Niklas Suele, while two other members of Germany’s
Olympic silver medallist team, Schalke midfielder Max Meyer and Bayer
Leverkusen midfielder Julian Brandt, are also included.

Outgoing captain Bastian Schweinsteiger is in
the squad for Wednesday’s friendly against Finland in Moenchengladbach, which
will be the Manchester United midfielder’s farewell game for the national team.

Schweinsteiger, 32, announced his retirement
from international football after Euro 2016.

Germany take on Norway in Oslo on September 4 in
the world champions’ first World Cup qualifying match.

They also face the Czech Republic in Hamburg
on October 8, Northern Ireland in Hanover on October 11 and visit San Marino on
November 11 in qualifiers this year. A friendly is also lined up against Italy
on November 15.

“It is our aim to develop a team over the
next two years who are in a position to defend their title in Russia,”
Loew said.

The squad contains many experienced players
but at the same time younger players will be integrated, Loew said.

Euro 2016 squad members Jerome Boateng, Mario
Gomez and Leroy Sane are still out with injuries. Midfielders Marco Reus and
Ilkay Guendogan, who missed the Euros because of injury, are remain absent as
they continue their recoveries.

Lukas Podolski, who was also due to be given a
farewell after announcing his retirement from international duty, is out with
an ankle injury.

Back in the squad is Bayer Leverkusen’s winger
Karim Bellarabi and his new team-mate, striker Kevin Volland, who were
overlooked for Euro 2016.

Squad: Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern
Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen)

Defenders: Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich),
Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Emre Can (Liverpool),
Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Niklas Suele
(Hoffenheim), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Sami
Khedira (Juventus), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund), Mesut Oezil (Arsenal),
Max Meyer (Schalke), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Karim Bellarabi (Bayer
Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (VfL Wolfsburg), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen),
Andre Schuerrle (Borussia Dortmund)

For Finland game: Bastian Schweinsteiger
(Manchester United)

Forwards: Mario Goetze (Borussia Dortmund),
Kevin Volland (Bayer Leverkusen)


About ghanamma

Leave a Reply